Attorney Fees


In General my fees are calculated according to the the German lawyers compensation act (RVG). For more information please view here.

In Section 2 RVG regulates the amount of remuneration:


"(1) Fees shall be calculated according to the value of the subject of the attorney’s professional activity (value of the claim) unless this Law specifies otherwise.

(2) The amount of the remuneration shall be determined by the Remuneration Schedule in annex 1 of this Law. Fees shall be rounded up or down to the nearest cent. 0.5 cents shall be rounded up."

But some areas of attorney's work are not regulated in RVG, e.g. such as draft and review of agreements. In these cases I will agree on specific fees reflecting to my assistance.

For these cases RVG has regulated in Section 3a the remuneration agreement:


"(1) An agreement on remuneration must be made in writing. It must be designated as a remuneration agreement or in a comparable way, be clearly separate from other agreements, with the exception of awards of mandate, and may not be included in a power of attorney. It shall contain an indication to the effect that the opposing party, a participant in the proceedings, or, in such case as the costs are reimbursed, the public treasury, need not as a rule reimburse more than the statutory remuneration. The first and second sentences above shall not apply to a fee agreement under section 34.

(2) If, taking into account all the circumstances, the agreed remuneration, the remuneration assessed by the Board of the Chamber of Lawyers pursuant to section 4 (3), first sentence, or the quota litis agreed pursuant to section 4a is inappropriately high, it can be reduced to the appropriate amount in legal action, to the amount of statutory remuneration. Before such reduction, the court shall obtain an expert report from the Board of the Chamber of Lawyers; the aforesaid shall not apply if the Board of the Chamber of Lawyers assessed the remuneration under section 4 (3), first sentence. The expert report shall be made free of charge.

(3) Any agreement according to which an attorney assigned as counsel using assistance with court costs (Prozesskostenhilfe) is to receive higher remuneration than the statutory remuneration for the work involved in such assignment shall be null and void. The civil law provisions on unjust enrichment shall remain unaffected."

For more infomation please contact me.

Rechtsanwaltskosten


In den meisten Fällen berechne ich die Gebühren nach dem RechtsanwaltsVergütungsGesetz (RVG). Den Gesetzestext können Sie hier einsehen.

§ 2 RVG regelt die Höhe der Vergütung in den Grundzügen:


"(1) Die Gebühren werden, soweit dieses Gesetz nichts anderes bestimmt, nach dem Wert berechnet, den der Gegenstand der anwaltlichen Tätigkeit hat (Gegenstandswert).

(2) Die Höhe der Vergütung bestimmt sich nach dem Vergütungsverzeichnis der Anlage 1 zu diesem Gesetz. Gebühren werden auf den nächstliegenden Cent auf- oder abgerundet; 0,5 Cent werden aufgerundet."

Es gibt einige Ausnahmefälle, für die das Gesetz die Gebühren nicht regelt. In diesen Fällen treffe ich mit Ihnen eine schriftliche Vereinbarung über die Gebühren. Es werden z.B. die Kosten für die Beratungsleistungen im Bereich des Vertragsrechts (wie zum Beispiel die Ausgestaltung und Prüfung von Verträgen oder AGB) durch eine solche Vereinbarung abgedeckt.

§ 3a RVG regelt die Vergütungsvereinbarung als Ausnahme zu den gesetzlich festgesetzten Gebühren:


"(1) Eine Vereinbarung über die Vergütung bedarf der Textform. Sie muss als Vergütungsvereinbarung oder in vergleichbarer Weise bezeichnet werden, von anderen Vereinbarungen mit Ausnahme der Auftragserteilung deutlich abgesetzt sein und darf nicht in der Vollmacht enthalten sein. Sie hat einen Hinweis darauf zu enthalten, dass die gegnerische Partei, ein Verfahrensbeteiligter oder die Staatskasse im Falle der Kostenerstattung regelmäßig nicht mehr als die gesetzliche Vergütung erstatten muss. Die Sätze 1 und 2 gelten nicht für eine Gebührenvereinbarung nach § 34.

(2) Ist eine vereinbarte, eine nach § 4 Abs. 3 Satz 1 von dem Vorstand der Rechtsanwaltskammer festgesetzte oder eine nach § 4a für den Erfolgsfall vereinbarte Vergütung unter Berücksichtigung aller Umstände unangemessen hoch, kann sie im Rechtsstreit auf den angemessenen Betrag bis zur Höhe der gesetzlichen Vergütung herabgesetzt werden. Vor der Herabsetzung hat das Gericht ein Gutachten des Vorstands der Rechtsanwaltskammer einzuholen; dies gilt nicht, wenn der Vorstand der Rechtsanwaltskammer die Vergütung nach § 4 Abs. 3 Satz 1 festgesetzt hat. Das Gutachten ist kostenlos zu erstatten.

(3) Eine Vereinbarung, nach der ein im Wege der Prozesskostenhilfe beigeordneter Rechtsanwalt für die von der Beiordnung erfasste Tätigkeit eine höhere als die gesetzliche Vergütung erhalten soll, ist nichtig. Die Vorschriften des bürgerlichen Rechts über die ungerechtfertigte Bereicherung bleiben unberührt."

Für Unternehmen agiere ich gerne als eine externe Rechtsabteilung zu festen Gebühren.